Hanse re-elected as Keetmanshoop mayor

Landless People's Movement (LPM) Councillor, McDonald Hanse, was on Monday re-elected as Keetmanshoop mayor. In his acceptance speech, Hanse urged his fellow councillors and council administrators to continue working hand in hand to unite the town's vision in order to achieve a thriving and harmonious town. 'Days for mediocrity are gone. No room for pedestrian thinking in this chamber anymore. Now it is time to take Keetmanshoop to the next level. Together we will face the challenges that lie ahead with determination, resilience and a shared commitment to the wellbeing of our town and its citizens,' he said. Hanse expressed gratitude towards the residents of the town, saying their trust and confidence in council has been the driving force behind its efforts. 'I must acknowledge that we failed you in some instances, one of them is constant community consultation. Today, I can give you the assurance that we heard you and that we will continue to work tirelessly to serve you, listen to your concerns and str ive to make our town a place we can all be proud to call home,' he added. The members of the management committee are LPM councillors Johannes Vries, Annalise Knouwds, Fatima Jossop, with Vries serving as the chairperson of the management committee. Ordinary council members are Swapo party councillor Johannes Nghidinwa and Gaudentia Kröhne. The proceedings were presided over by Principal Magistrate, Uchen Konjore. Source: The Namibian Press Agency